How the Florida PIP rule effects you.
A new PIP law for Florida motor vehicle drivers was enacted in 2013. The Florida law requires each driver to carry at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection ("PIP") coverage, which allows a Florida motorist to receive medical benefits if involved in an accident, even if the accident is their fault.
The "14 Day Rule" of Florida PIP law
A major aspect of the new law is that individuals injured in car accidents will have only 14 days to seek initial treatment. If medical treatment for the accident injuries is sought after the 14 week period, nothing is required to be reimbursed by the insurance company. For this reason, it is important to begin treatment as soon as possible. In order to start treatment, a proper diagnose is needed by a certified doctor (see the next section for more of an explanation).
What is defined as "medical treatment" that has to be started within the 14 days?
To understand medical treatment, it is important to first understand the way a case is reimbursed: Under the new law, an injured person may only be eligible for $2,500 in coverage, as opposed to the previous limit of $10,000. Only those with serious injuries that are backed up with medical evidence are eligible for the $10,000. Per the case law and various sources, to have medical evidence, patients will need certification by a medical doctor, physician, physician assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner validating and verifying the severity of the injury, and that the injury requires significant medical attention. (FL Statutes) The good thing is that BOMC has a large, broad-reaching staff of accident injury specialists that more than qualify for this type of certification.